Image - James Walsh, Anthropic bench, 2020. Image courtesy of James Walsh

The Australian Furniture Design Award

The Australian Furniture Design Award (AFDA) is a biennial award that celebrates the most interesting furniture and lighting design being created in Australia today, with a particular emphasis on new design ideas, critical and creative thinking, sustainability, material development and research that explores innovative production processes.

The Award is Australia’s richest furniture design prize. The winner receives $20,000; an invitation to develop a commercial range or product with Stylecraft; and a two-week professional development residency at JamFactory in Adelaide.

Registrations have now closed for AFDA 2022. 

From the many entries received, a shortlist of five entrants have been invited to proceed to Stage Two and present their realised designs for exhibition and judging at the Stylecraft showroom during Melbourne Design Week 2022.

The shortlisted designers are; Ashley Jameson Eriksmoen, Chris Connell, Elliot Bastianon, Danielle Brustman Studio and Trent Jansen.

The jury for the Australian Furniture Design Award 2022 includes Tony Russell, Brand Director, Stylecraft; Simone LeAmon, The Hugh Williamson Curator, Contemporary Design and Architecture, NGV; Brian Parkes, CEO, JamFactory; Ross Gardam, Designer, Ross Gardam; and Kirstin Stanisich, Director, Richards Stanisich.

The winner will be announced and the realised designs by the shortlisted competitors exhibited at Stylecraft’s showroom during Melbourne Design Week 2022. Follow @ngvmelbourne and @stylecraftfurniture on Instagram or subscribe for Melbourne Design News updates here.